London calling

Image

Kensington High Street

Image

Kensington Chelsea

I’m spending the next few nights in the Kensington Chelsea area of London at the Nadler Hotel. The area is dense residential urban with 4 – 5 story Edwardian row houses situated on tree lined streets. Neighborhoods seem to be defined by small lushly planted parks, ½ block by 1 block in size, situated amongst the wall of housing. Once single family private residences, they are now mostly multi family flats. Given the amount of luxury vehicles lining the streets, I’m guessing this is a fairly affluent area. Clearly the full size Range Rover is the UK version of the Ford Explorer. If you don’t own one, you know several people who do. On my evening walk I took the opportunity to peer inside those homes where the owners were foolish enough to leave the curtains open. The homes are absolutely gorgeous. Most have traditional decorating schemes but some have been done up in European modern. I could see myself easily living on any number of the flats I saw. A quick perusal of homes for sale in a local Estate Agent’s window crushed any idea of that. £1.1 M ($1.74 M) for a 2 bedroom 2 bath flat. And that’s without parking. That price point pretty much explains the cars on the street.

Image

Garden

Staying in Kensington is a bit of a test for me. I usually stay in a more central London location, closer to Covent Gardens and the West End for shopping and the theater. This December, what’s left of my family and I are heading back to London for a week. My sister-in-law prefers this hotel to where I usually stay. I decided to give it a go for a few days prior to booking for an entire week in December. So far I find the hotel to be quite nice but the location is not as convenient for my daily activities as my usual location. I’m trying to keep an open mind, which isn’t always easy for me.

Leave a Reply

