This one is for Suzan

Image

Main Entrance
Glasgow School of Art

My friend Suzan, upon learning that I would be staying in Glasgow, asked that I stop by and take a picture of the Glasgow School of Art for her. Architect, Charles Rennie Mackintosh, one of the founding fathers of the Arts and Crafts and Art Nouveau movement, designed the building. I not only agreed to stop by, I booked a tour of the building. My plan to take heaps of interesting and notable photographs was thwarted by the tour guide when I was told that taking photographs inside the building was not allowed. I was also told that pictured could be purchased in the gift shop or downloaded from the school’s web site. I have yet to be able to successfully download any photos, hence, no interesting or notable photographs to publish other than the one of the front door.

The drive from Glasgow to London was all on the motorway. The estimated time was six and a half hours. With a steady rain and traffic congestion through Blackpool, Manchester and Liverpool the drive turned into an eight and a half hour trek. Whilst I have gotten more comfortable with driving on the left-hand side of the road, driving through city centers is still a bit of a white-knuckle adventure for me. I won’t say that I am a slow driver, but 90-year-old women walking with shopping bags were lap me. I only got honked at once though. The woman who did the honking clearly did not understand the concept of zipper merging: One car goes from one lane and then one car from the other. A quick peek in the rearview mirror showed me that she was still venting, hand waving and all. Perhaps her kettle was on the fritz and she hadn’t had her cup of tea this morning. Other than that, it was a pretty uneventful drive thanks in no small part to the GPS. I don’t know how solo drivers did it before the advent of the GPS. To refer to a map, navigate traffic, watch for signs and not hit someone seems virtually impossible.

One thought

  1. Incredible! Love it! Even the signage is cool. Photographs in architecture books do it no justice. Is that a door off to the left inside? Inquiring minds . . .

    Thanks so much. I hope you lifted a little souvenir when the guards weren’t looking.

Leave a Reply

