The road to Glasgow . . .

Image

Glenco

. . . is just how I always imagined the Scottish Highlands to be: Kelly green grass covered mountains of rock cascading down into deep green forest covered glens with azure lakes and sparkling crystal clear streams. Perhaps the English’s desire to invade Scotland was not to secure the recipe for haggis but perhaps, just perhaps, it was to call the beauty of Scotland their own.

I’m in favor of Scotland being able to rule its own people but then I have no say as I’m only part Scot by heritage, not by birth. Speaking of heritage, my family’s clan evidently did not have a large presents in Scotland. 90% of the souvenir shops selling clan trinkets have nothing for the McMillan clan. My choice of clan souvenirs were limited to a key chain or a large and rather unattractive broach. I chose the key chain.

Image

Along the way to Glasgow

I’ve had no problem understanding the Scottish brogue. That is until arriving in Glasgow. I asked a store clerk for directions to the Glasgow School of Art. She gave me detailed directions. She could have been speaking Russian for all I understood. I smiled politely, thanked her and decided my best approach was to go back to the hotel and do a Google search. A gentleman later stopped me on the street and yammered on about something ending with “Can you help me?” When I responded, “Sorry, but help you with what?” he said, “Give me money”. That I understood. He was a panhandler.

Image

Buchanan Street
Glasgow, UK

Glasgow grew from a small rural settlement on the River Clyde to become one of the largest seaports in the world. Expanding from the medieval bishopric and royal burgh, and the later establishment of the University of Glasgow in the 15th century, it became a major centre of the Scottish Enlightenment in the 18th century. From the 18th century the city also grew as one of Great Britain’s main hubs of transatlantic trade with North America and the West Indies. With the onset of the Industrial Revolution, the population and economy of Glasgow and the surrounding region expanded rapidly to become one of the world’s pre-eminent centres of chemicals, textiles and engineering; most notably in the shipbuilding and marine engineering industry, which produced many innovative and famous vessels. Glasgow was known as the “Second City of the British Empire” for much of the Victorian era and Edwardian period. Today it is the largest city in Scotland, one of Europe’s top ten financial centres and is home to many of Scotland’s leading businesses. Glasgow is also ranked as the 57th most liveable city in the world. [1]

[1] shamelessly plagiarized from WikipediA.

2 thoughts

Leave a Reply

