Oh look, it’s raining. I must be in Scotland

I ordered the ‘Full English’ for breakfast this morning. When queried as to how I would like my egg cooked, I replied, “sunny side up”. My response was met with a blank stare by the server followed by the sound of chirping crickets. The Innkeeper, not far away and within earshot, rushed over and informed me that the server wouldn’t understand such an order and directed her to tell the cook to fry the egg on one side only. “What’s the sunny side?” the server asked. “The yolk is like the sun on a sunny day” I cheerfully informed her. “And what kind of toast would you prefer?” she continued. “Do you have wheat toast?” I asked. “All of our bread for toast is made with wheat. Do you want white or brown toast?” she replied, now looking a little suspicious of me. “Isn’t all toast brown?” I asked. OK, I was just messing with her at this point. “I’ll have brown toast please.” I’m sure she thought “Daft American” on her return to the kitchen. Yes, I inherited my father’s sense of humour. Guess I won’t be invited back to that Bed and Breakfast.

My finely honed driving skills from yesterday came in quite handy today as I was mostly on secondary roads versus the motorway. Narrow windy roads with hedgerows on either side. I was able to experience the English countryside as the locals do; drippy and wet. Summer apparently ended last night. It’s all over the news. 80’s and 90’s yesterday and in the 50’s and raining today. The Innkeeper apologized for the weather but I figure it’s just part of the experience.

Image

Warwick Castle
“The stronghold of the Percy Family”

Image

Another castle in the distance

Image

Bamburgh Castle

There certainly is no shortage of castles on the drive from York to Edinburgh. The landscape is littered with them. Having no set agenda, I drove by all that I could find but, admittedly, didn’t go inside most of them. When you’ve seen one crumbling stone building, you’ve seen most, if not all, of them. I also amused myself by taking side trips to towns with interesting sounding names, such as Berwick on Tweed. One should always visit towns based upon roughly woven fabric.

3 thoughts

Leave a Reply

