Onion Soup

DSC_0057A

I decided to start a blog: A travel and food blog to be specific. People seem to like the travel blogs I do when I’m on one of my motorcycle trips and they seem to like my cooking so, I figured it was about time I started a blog. I’m not completely sure what a blog is other than mindless rambling of a deranged individual such as my self. But, if others can do it, I guess I can too. Actually, it is a way for me to combine several of my interests: Cooking, eating, travel and photography. It will be interesting to see over time how this progresses. Comments and feed back are welcome. Just remember, I will take the pain and disappointment of any negative comments to my grave. Just kidding, well maybe not…

My first blog will be about Onion Soup. I love onion soup but I wanted to make it vegetarian, not vegan, as you HAVE to have melted cheese. Everything is better with melted cheese; and bacon. Bacon is the best, but maybe not in onion soup. Especially vegetarian onion soup.

Onion Soup

Recipe courtesy The Canuck Chef

Yield: 6 servings

1/2 cup unsalted butter

4 onions, sliced

1 tablespoon sugar

4 garlic cloves, sliced

1 cup dry white wine

3 heaping tablespoons all-purpose flour

2 bay leaves

4 fresh thyme sprigs, tied together with kitchen twine for easy removal

2 quarts vegetable broth

1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce

Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

1 baguette, sliced into six ¼” slices

2 tablespoons olive oil

1/4 pound grated Gruyere

Melt the butter in a large pot set over medium heat. Add the onions and sugar and cook until the onions are very soft and caramelized, about 20 minutes. Stir occasionally at the start and more frequently as the onions start to brown. Add the garlic and continue cooking for an additional 5 minutes. Add the wine, bring to a boil, reduce the heat and simmer until the wine has evaporated and the onions are dry, about 5 minutes. Sprinkle the onions with the flour and stir to combine. Cook for 5 minutes to cook out the raw flour taste. Add the bay leaves, thyme bundle, vegetable broth and Worcestershire sauce and bring the soup back to a simmer, and cook for 20 minutes. Season, to taste, with salt and pepper.

Preheat the oven to 350o F.

Whilst the soup is simmering, arrange the baguette slices on a baking sheet in a single layer. Bake until lightly brown and crisp. Remove from the oven and turn on the oven’s broiler. Brush the toasted bread slices with olive oil and sprinkle the slices with the Gruyere.  Broil until bubbly and golden brown, 3 to 5 minutes.

Ladle the soup in bowls and float a Gruyere croutons on top.

DSC_0066A

2 thoughts

Leave a Reply

